An eyeopening experience and this week’s goals

My goal last week was to write down everything that I ate. This included everything from my late afternoon diet soda to the random breathe mints throughout the day. The inspiration for this goal came from this month’s book, The EveryGirl’s Guide to Diet and Fitness. In the book, Maria Menounos said she was surprised by her first food log, and I had a similar experience.

Here is my log from Monday:

  • 8:15 am – Coffee with unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 9:10 am – Coffee with unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 10:00 am – Instant maple & brown sugar oatmeal (low sugar, made with water)
  • 12:00 pm – Half of a small pepperoni & pineapple pizza; regular tossed salad with Esperanza dressing
  • 3:30 pm – Diet Pepsi
  • 5:40 pm – Picked at chicken; slice of monterey jack cheese while cooking; small glass sprite
  • 5:55 pm – Skinnytaste buffalo chicken toast; Skinnytaste house salad; glass of sprite
  • 8:00 pm – Two slices multigrain bread dipped in balsamic vinegar and parmesan cheese 
  • 8:45 pm – A few sips of Sprite

This is a very representative day because everyday this week had some healthy moments and some not so healthy ones. For instance, this was a pretty good day except for my lunch, which added up to a shocking 780 calories! What’s most sad about that is I enjoyed my dinner more than my lunch and it was almost 300 less calories. This was a theme throughout the week that really showed me that just because it’s healthy option doesn’t mean it’s the less delicious one.

Another theme, which I knew was coming, was that caffeine addiction is very real. Every morning included two cups of coffee and every afternoon, around the same time, it was time for my second dose. i was proud of myself for choosing diet soda rather than my favorite, Coca-Cola Classic, but that’s not very good for me either. I’m going to try to slowing start weening my body off of this addiction.

I need to also start weening myself off of my mindless snacking habit. For the first time in a long time, I was thinking about everything that I put into my mouth and I never realized how much of that was in between meals. Whether it was free samples at the grocery store or a snacks here and there while cooking – snacking, even when I wasn’t hungry or about to eat a meal, was something I did every day.

With all of that in mind, I’ve decided that I’m going to build on my previous goal rather than define an entirely new one. This week, my goal is to continue to log my food intake but begin to include calorie, fat, protein and sugar counts. This will allow me to see what all of this is adding up to, and prepare me for what it’s going to take to cut the calories and lose some weight. I’m also going to focus on my snacking and try to keep it to a mid-morning, mid-afternoon, and after dinner snack. No more eating while shopping or cooking for this girl!

Leave a comment