MMM: All Purpose Chicken

Meal planning and preparation seems to be a common theme among healthy lifestyles. The basic idea is that you set yourself up to eat well by surrounding yourself with the best foods. With that in mind, I spent some time last Sunday meal prepping.

I made a batch of low calorie salad dressing, cut up veggies, put together lunches for the week, and tested out the Convenient Slow Cooker Shredded Chicken from the Skinnytaste Cookbook. If you have the cookbook and haven’t made this yet, drop what you’re doing and plan your next week of meals around it. If you don’t have the cookbook, I’d argue this one recipe, and the other’s in the book that utilize it, make it worth buying.

With a few staple pantry ingredients, minimal hands on time, and four hours of slow cooking, I ended up with enough chicken for lunches and dinners throughout the week. Cooking up about 2 pounds of chicken got me:

  • Chicken enchiladas
  • Three chicken caesar wraps
  • Chicken to add some protein to a salad
  • Buffalo Chicken Toast from Skinnytaste Cookbook 

This is a recipe that I’ll begin to incorporate into my weekly routine. It’s easy to adjust for more or less (I added about a half a pound), and allows for a lot of variety in your menu with less prep time. Off the top of my head, I could make chicken tacos, chicken salad,or any of the recipes in the Skinnytaste cookbook that call for it with just one batch.

For someone who needs variety in her meals, this is the perfect recipe.

Leave a comment