Catalyst

I recently stepped on a scale and learned that I am 23 pounds over what is considered healthy for my 5’7 height. 

Don’t get me wrong, I knew I had gained weight. I have a full length mirror and a closet full of clothes that are just a little too small to remind me everyday, but I never considered the number. I didn’t want to, and the only reason I found out was a required weight check at the doctor. However, now that I do know, I’m choosing to believe that it’s not the number that matters but instead it’s what I do with the knowledge.

I’m going to change that number and write about it, because at this point it’s not about getting a bikini body. It’s about being healthy and those 23 pounds are not simply healthy. 

I’m not looking for a quick change, as you’ll read over time I’ve tried a lot of options that promise results quickly. I’m looking to update my lifestyle to one where I can enjoy the things I love like pizza and beer (in moderation, of course), but maintain my health on a daily basis.

Those 30 seconds on the scale served as a catalyst for this journey, and this blog is my way of exploring the best way to reach that goal.

Leave a comment