How this is going to work & this week’s goals

In my opinion, this is going to be all about learning balance – being healthy without completely giving up things I love.

It’s about taking all of the resources available and figuring out which ones work best for me. Fortunately, I already have a few that I’ve paid for in Tone It Up, a local YMCA membership, and my copy of The EveryGirl’s Guide to Fitness and Health – you’ll hear me references these a lot. The rest, at least for now, will be ones I  find online that come in all shapes as sizes. These could be anything from a gym workout for beginners from Bodybuilding.com, or a daily health and fitness email from Popsugar.

Whether it’s testing out new recipes, taking up a week of “Bootycalls,” or just cutting out soda – I’m going to pick goals every week to try to stick to. The one’s that work for me (prediction: morning workouts will never work for me) I’ll keep and the one’s that don’t I’ll toss.

This will not the quickest route to the finish line, but after reading Maria Menounos’ story (and countless others) I truly believe that the best way to make a lasting lifestyle change is slowly. After all, it’s the tortoise that wins the race, not the hare.

Speaking of Maria Menounos, my first weekly goal is coming directly from her book:

Write down what you eat, down to every last breath mint.

No calorie counting, no obsessing over its health benefits – just a day by day log of what you eat. She said that when she was first starting out, her initial food journal served as an eye opening catalyst for change. I’ve already had my catalyst for change, but I expect that I’ll still be surprised by what I’m putting into my body.

Question of the day: Have you ever kept a food journal and, if so, what surprised you about it?

Leave a comment